Enduring Power of Attorney

Hypothetical cases

Case 1: Mr. X

Mr. X, who was 60 years old and financial relatively well-off, began to show signs of memory loss, decreased ability to think, language impairment, inability to recognize relatives, and other indicative signs of dementia. Mrs. X heard about the concept of an EPA and thought that it was a good idea to get Mr. X sign an EPA.  She promptly got a solicitor to advise her on the feasibility of making an EPA for Mr. X. The solicitor told her that since Mr. X already showed signs of dementia, it was perhaps too late to try to do an EPA because Mr. X had to do it while he was still mentally sound.  The solicitor then recommended Mr. and Mrs. X to consult a medical doctor as soon as possible to ascertain Mr. X’s mental status. Mrs. X brought Mr. X to consult a few medical practitioners; and all of them diagnosed Mr. X as suffering from dementia and was no longer mentally capable. Naturally, none of these medical practitioners are prepared to certify on an EPA that Mr. X is mentally capable. Now apart from taking care of Mr. X’s physical well-being, the X family has to face the following financial problems:

  • While the family appears relatively well-off, most of the family assets, including cash in banks and shares in publicly listed companies are held in Mr. X’s sole name.
  • Therefore, Mrs. X is not able to touch or liquidate those assets to cater for the family’s fiscal expenses and Mr. X’s medical expenses.
  • Mr. and Mrs. X have a joint account at a bank, with a balance of several hundred thousand dollars. Mrs. X will be able to withdraw money from this account. But it is expected that the money in this account will be depleted within a few years (or maybe within an even shorter period).
  • Mrs. X will now have to rely on her own savings to support the family.
  • Mrs. X will also have to sell some of her jewellery to get some cash.  Luckily most of her jewellery is kept in a safe deposit box in her own name.
  • Mrs. X understands that Mr. X has kept some rare coins which would worth some money. Those coins were kept in a safe deposit box in Mr. X’s sole name. So again Mrs. X cannot access them. 
  • The most disturbing matter is their son. Mr. and Mrs. X have a son, who unfortunately is a spendthrift and has never had a proper job even though he is already 40 years old. The relationship between the parents and the son is of course bitter. However, since this is their only son, Mr. and Mrs. X still love him and have tolerated him and financially supported him for years. Now Mrs. X is very worried that their son will take advantage of Mr. X’s mental condition by, for instance, taking Mr. X to the bank to withdraw a large sum of money and get the money for himself.

Now, Mrs. X has to engage a lawyer to apply to the Court in order to deal with Mr. X’s property according to the Mental Health Ordinance. The procedure is much more complicated. While waiting for the outcome, Mrs. X keeps worrying all the time.

Evidently, none of the above disastrous events would happen if Mr. X had made an EPA while he was still mentally capable.

Case 2: Ms. Y

Ms. Y made her EPA when she was still mentally capable. Ms. Y’s husband passed away years ago and left her with a reasonably generous estate.  She had 2 sons. The elder one, unfortunately, was a prodigal who had left the family years ago. He broke Ms. Y’s heart so much that she did not consider this man her son anymore. Fortunately Ms. Y’s second son was a man with filial piety; he lived with and took care of Ms. Y who was approaching 70 years old. The second son was also the attorney under the EPA.  The EPA expressly specifies that it would take effect when Ms. Y was diagnosed to be mentally incapable. The EPA also contained sufficiently clear and specific instructions as to how the second son should handle Ms. Y’s property and financial affairs. It also empowered the second son to transfer Ms. Y’s money to his bank accounts set up for the sole purpose of accommodating and administering Ms. Y’s assets. Recently the second son noticed that Ms. Y was showing some obvious signs of dementia. This sad fact was verified by the family’s doctor. The second son took the EPA to his solicitor and sought legal advice. Then: 

  • The solicitor assisted the second son by taking the EPA to the Court for registration.
  • The second son was a righteous man but was not doing very good in his career.  His income barely supported himself and could not maintain Ms. Y’s living standard. Fortunately, pursuant to section 4(5) of the Enduring Powers of Attorney Ordinance (Cap.501 of the Laws of Hong Kong), the second son was able to access Ms. Y’s assets to a certain extent while waiting for the registration of the EPA.
  • Upon the completion of the registration process, the second son was able to gain full access to Ms. Y’s assets. With the assistance of the EPA, he was able to use Ms. Y’s financial resources to take good care of her.
  • Then the elder son appeared after years of disappearance. He asked the second son to give him his “share” in their parents’ fortune.  The second son of course refused.
  • The elder son tried to approach Ms. Y and take advantage of her mental incapacity. Fortunately, as empowered by the EPA, the second son had set up a fresh bank account in his own name, where this bank account was used solely to take up Ms. Y’s money. The second son was also wise enough to have withdrawn all money from Ms. Y’s bank account and transferred the money into this fresh bank account in his name.
  • Even if the elder son took Ms. Y to a bank and tried to withdraw money, there was no money in Ms. Y’s account at all.
  • The second son continued to take good care of Ms. Y.

By comparing Ms. Y’s case with Mr. X’s, one would easily note that the difference is sufficiently evident to necessitate any further explanation. While the word “fortunately” is used a number of times in the above hypothetical case of Ms. Y, it is not fortune which brings forth such a difference.  It is Ms. Y’s good preparation for the future; and the key is the EPA.

持久授權書

假設個案

個案1:X先生

X先生現年60歲,經濟算是富足,但他近來開始出現癡呆(失智)症的典型徵狀,例如喪失記憶、思考能力下降、語言障礙、無法認出家人等。X太太聽聞有關持久授權書的概念,也同意應該讓X先生簽立一份持久授權書。她很快找到一位律師,尋求法律意見,詢問有關讓X先生簽立持久授權書的可行性。律師告訴她,持久授權書必須在授權人精神健全之時簽立;既然X先生現在已經出現癡呆(失智)症的跡象,也許為時已晚。該律師建議X先生和X太太先行咨詢醫生,盡快確定X先生的精神狀況。X太太帶X先生看了幾位醫生,全都診斷X先生已患上癡呆(失智)症,並且精神上已無行為能力。當然,這些醫生都不會願意在持久授權書上簽署,核證X先生是精神上有能力行事的。現在,X家族除了照顧X先生的身體狀況,還要面對以下的財務問題:

  • X先生的家庭雖然看似頗為富裕,但大部份資產——例如銀行帳戶內的現金存款和上市公司的股票—都由X先生以個人名義持有,因此,X太太無法動用或變現這些資產,以應付家庭財政開支及X先生的醫療費用。
  • X先生和X太太在某銀行持有一個聯名戶口,約有幾十萬元存款。X太太總算可以從這個帳戶提款,但恐怕這個帳戶的存款在幾年內(或許在更短的時間內)就會被耗盡。
  • X太太現在必須依靠自己的私人儲蓄以維持家庭開支。
  • X太太也將需出售她的珠寶首飾以套取現金。幸好她的珠寶首飾大部分都存放在以她個人名義開立的銀行保險箱內。
  • X太太知道X先生一向有收藏一些價值不菲的罕有錢幣。這些錢幣都放在以X先生個人名義開立的銀行保險箱內。因此,X太太無法拿到錢幣。 
  • 最令人不安的是他們的兒子。X先生和X太太的兒子已經40多歲,但一直不務正業,遊手好閒,而且揮霍無度。當然,父母和兒子之間關係並不和諧。但由於這是他們唯一的兒子,X先生和X太太一直容忍他,多年來仍然在財政上支援他。現在X太太最擔心兒子會借機利用X先生的精神狀況,例如帶X先生到銀行提取現款,然後自己把錢拿走。

結果,X太太要聘請律師,根據《精神健康條例》,向法庭申請處理X先生的財產,手續繁複,花了不少律師費,過程中又擔驚受怕。

顯然,如果X先生在他精神上仍然有能力行事的時候已簽立持久授權書,以上的災難性事件全都不會發生。

個案2:Y女士

Y女士在自己精神上仍然有行為能力的時候已簽立一份持久授權書。Y女士的丈夫已離世多年,並留下一筆頗為可觀的遺產給她。她有兩個兒子。遺憾的是,長子不肖,多年前已離家,傷透了Y女士的心,她早已當作沒有這個兒子。尤幸次子頗盡孝道,他一直與Y女士同住,並照顧著經已快到70歲的母親。次子也是持久授權書內指定的受權人。該持久授權書明確指定它將在Y女士被診斷為精神上無行為能力時開始生效。持久授權書也載有足夠明確和具體的指示,說明次子作為受權人應如何處理Y女士的財產和財政事務,包括授權次子將Y女士的銀行存款轉到次子新開立的戶口名下,純粹為處理Y女士的資產。

次子最近注意到,Y女士出現一些癡呆(失智)症的明顯徵狀。經家庭醫生診斷後,確認Y女士已屬於精神上無行為能力。次子帶著那份持久授權書往見其律師,徵詢法律意見。然後:

  • 在律師的協助下,次子把持久授權書呈交法院申請註冊。
  • 次子為人正直,但其個人事業發展不算成功,收入僅足夠維持生計,但不足以維持Y女士的生活水平。幸好,藉著《持久授權書條例》(香港法例第501章)第4(5)條,次子可以在等候持久授權書完成註冊期間,在一定程度上動用Y女士的資產。
  • 完成有關的註冊過程後,次子得以全面掌管Y女士的資產。藉著那份持久授權書,他得以動用Y女士的財務資源,好好照顧母親。
  • 失蹤多年的長子在此時出現。他要求分到父母的財富中他「應得的一份」。次子當然拒絕。
  • 然後大兒子試圖接近Y女士,並利用她精神上無行為能力的狀況。幸運的是,次子已依據持久授權書賦予他的權力,以自己的名義,在銀行開立全新戶口,並把Y女士的所有存款提走及轉移到該戶口,而該戶口只會處理Y女士的資產。即使長子帶Y女士到銀行提款,也根本無款可提。
  • 次子繼續好好地照顧Y女士。

X先生和Y女士兩宗個案的分別,相信已經顯而易見,不需要進一步解釋。雖然Y女士的個案中,不時出現「幸運」一詞,但促使兩宗個案有不同的結果,並非靠運氣,而是Y女士早已為未來做好準備,關鍵就是那份持久授權書。