The Mandatory Provident Fund

MPF and Occupational Retirement Schemes (ORS)

The Occupation Retirement Scheme (ORS) was the retirement benefits scheme in force before the MPF was enacted.  Employers continuing under the ORS must give employees a one-off choice on which scheme they wish to join. The ORS is governed by the Occupational Retirement Scheme Ordinance (Cap. 426) (the “Ordinance”). 

There are two types of ORS – those which have been exempted under section 7 of the Ordinance and those which are not exempted.  If the ORS scheme is exempted, the employer must set up for both MPF and ORS scheme until the employee opts for either one of the options within the first 30 days of employment. If the ORS scheme is not exempted, it can only be provided in addition to the MPF scheme. 

What are the main differences between the two schemes?

An ORS is set up voluntarily by employers. It is governed by rules which determine the major aspects of the scheme, including: the vesting of the scheme’s benefits, retirement age, eligibility, the amount of contributions, and the bearer of administration charges. These governing rules are drawn up by the individual employers. Under the MPF scheme, these areas are restricted by the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance (Cap.485)

Under the ORS, the withdrawal of benefits usually arises upon termination of the employment.  It is also common for the employer to opt for a vesting scale based upon the years of service: e.g. 30% of accrued benefits after three years and 100% after 10 years. The scheme and investment portfolio is also chosen by the employer under the ORS.

If an MPF-exempted ORS scheme was opted for after 1 December 2000, a minimum MPF benefit (MMB) is required to be transferred from the ORS account to the MPF account upon termination of employment. This must be the lesser of the following:

  1. The benefits derived from the employee’s contributions + the benefits derived from the employer’s contributions under the vesting scale; or
  2. The final average monthly relevant income (capped at $25,000) x years of post-MPF service x 1.2

For details on how to calculate the MMB, please refer to the MPFA website.

What is the procedure for applying for an ORS?

Applications for an ORS must be made within three months after the employer has entered into contract for registration or exemption from the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority (MPFA).

The application forms can be downloaded from the MPFA website.

The ORS also requires that an actuary certificate be issued regarding any arrangement under the scheme under Schedule 2 of the Ordinance.

强积金

强积金和职业退休计划

职业退休计划在强积金制度成立前实施,是一种退休保障计划。强积金制度成立后,雇主如继续营办职业退休计划,必须容许雇员有一次机会,选择继续留在职业退休计划,还是加入强积金计划。职业退休计划由《职业退休计划条例》(第426章)(简称《条例》)规管。

职业退休计划分为两种,分别是获《条例》第7条豁免的计划及不获豁免的计划。如有关计划获豁免,雇主便须同时提供该计划和强积金计划,让雇员入职后首30内作出选择。如有关计划没有获豁免,雇主则必须替雇员参加强积金计划,并只可在强积金计划以外,额外提供职业退休保障。

强积金计划和职业退休计划有什么主要分别?

职业退休计划由雇主自愿营办,计划设有管限规则,订定计划内容,包括计划权益的归属、退休年龄、供款款额及管理费用由谁承担。这些管限规则由雇主厘定;而在强积金计划下,这些范畴均由《强制性公积金计划条例》(第485章)厘定。

参加职业退休计划的雇员通常会在离职时提取权益,雇主普遍会以雇员的服务年期计算归属比例,例如工作满三年可提取30%权益,满十年可提取100%权益。至于计划及基金组合则由雇主决定。

2000年12月1日后,雇员如参加获强积金豁免的职业退休计划,离职时必须计算“最低强积金利益”,并将之由职业退休计划转移至一个强积金计划。“最低强积金利益”是指下列两个计算方法中得出的数额较小者:

  1. 由该雇员供款所产生的利益+按归属比例计算所得、由雇主供款产生的利益;或
  2. 该成员离职那一年的每月平均有关入息(上限为$25,000)×强积金制度实施后的服务年期× 1.2

请参考积金局的网页,了解更多如何计算“最低强积金利益”。

申请营办职业退休计划有什么程序?

雇主必须先与雇员拟定设立退休计划的合约,并在拟定合约后3个月内,向强制性公积金计划管理局(积金局)提出申请。

申请表格可于积金局网页下载。

雇主亦须根据《条例》附表二,就计划的各项安排取得精算师证明书。