Employment: Holiday/leave

Rest day

An employee who is employed under a continuous contract is entitled to not less than one rest day in every period of seven days. A rest day is defined as a continuous period of not less than 24 hours during which an employee is entitled to cease working. Rest days are not equivalent to statutory holidays. An employee employed under a continuous contract is entitled to have rest days AND statutory holidays.

Rest days are appointed by the employer. They can be granted on a regular or irregular basis. The employer has to inform the employee of the arrangements. If a statutory holiday falls on a rest day, then it should be taken on the day following the rest day.

If your employer orders you to work on Sunday or your usual rest day, you may reject such an order because an employer must not compel an employee to work on a rest day except in the event of a breakdown of machinery or plant or in any other unforeseen emergency. However, employees may work voluntarily on a rest day. The employer should substitute another rest day within 30 days after the original rest day.

Employers who fail to grant rest days to employees or compel employees to work on their rest days are liable to prosecution and, upon conviction, to a fine of $50,000.

雇佣关系:假期

休息日

受雇于连续性合约之雇员,有权在每七天内享有一天休息日。休息日的定义为一名雇员有权在不少于24小时内不用工作。休息日跟法定假期不同。受雇于连续性合约之雇员,有权享有休息日及法定假期。

休息日须由雇主指定。休息日可以定期或非定期的形式发放。雇主只需向其雇员通知有关休息日的安排。如法定假期的日期刚好是一个休息日,有关的休假应在休息日之翌日。

如雇主指令您在星期日或惯常休息日工作,您可以拒绝,因为雇主不能强迫雇员在休息日工作,除非在机器或厂房失灵或在任何不能预见之紧急情况下,则属例外。可是,雇员可以自愿地选择在休息日工作,而雇主应该在原定休息日的30日内,以其他假期代替。

雇主如未能向其雇员给予休息日或强迫其雇员在休息日工作,会被检控。一经定罪,可被罚款港币5万元。