Employment: Contract and wages

Wages overdue

Wages become due on the expiry of the last day of the wage period (e.g. for a monthly wage period, wages become due on the expiry of the last day in each month). Employers should pay wages to their employees as soon as practicable, but in any case not later than seven days after the end of the wage period. Employers are required to pay interest (at the rate fixed by the Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal from time to time) on the outstanding amount of wages if they fail to pay those wages within seven days from the due date.

An employer who is no longer able to pay wages should terminate the relevant contract of employment in accordance with its terms.

If wages are not paid within one month after they become due, then employees can deem their contracts of employment to be terminated by their employers without notice, and are entitled to wages in lieu of notice in addition to other statutory and contractual termination payments.

Employers who fail to pay wages to employees when they become due are liable to prosecution and, upon conviction, to a fine of $200,000 and imprisonment for one year. Employers who fail to pay interest on the outstanding amount of wages to employees are liable to prosecution and, upon conviction, to a fine of $10,000.

If you notice symptoms of insolvency in your employer (e.g. failing to pay wages, some machines or raw materials removed or the employer suddenly disappeared), then you should immediately seek assistance from the Labour Relations Division of the Labour Department. When appropriate, the Labour Relations Division will refer your case to the Legal Aid Department, which will consider your application for legal aid for instituting winding-up or bankruptcy proceedings against your employer.

You may also be referred to the Wage Security Division of the Labour Department for application for ex-gratia payment from the Protection of Wages on Insolvency Fund.

You can contact the Labour Department at 27171771 or via email at enquiry@labour.gov.hk for further details.

雇佣关系:合约与工资

拖欠薪金

工资在工资期最后一天完结时即到期缴付(例如就月薪制之雇员,有关工资将在每个月之最后一天完结时到期缴付)。雇主应该在可行的情况下尽快向其雇员支付工资,但在任何情况下,不得迟于有关工资期届满后之第七天。假若雇主在工资到期日的七天内未能缴付有关工资,雇主须就拖欠的工资缴付利息予雇员(利率由终审法院首席法官不时厘定)。

雇主如未能继续支付工资,则应该根据雇佣合约之条款与雇员解约。

如雇主于工资到期后的一个月内仍未能支付有关工资,雇员可当作其雇佣合约已被雇主终止,在此情况下,雇员除可获得其他法定及终止合约赔偿外,还可获得解雇代通知金。

如雇主未能依时向其雇员支付有关工资,可被检控,一经定罪,最高可被罚款港币20万元以及入狱一年。雇主如未能向其雇员支付拖欠工资之利息,亦可被检控,一经定罪,最高可被罚款1万元。

若然阁下留意到一些关于雇主的“破产征状”(例如未能支付工资、某些机器或原材料被搬走、雇主突然失踪等),便应该立即向劳工处的劳资关系科寻求协助。如有需要,劳资关系科会将阁下的个案转介至法律援助处,而法援处会审批阁下向雇主提出破产或清盘程序之有关法律援助申请。

阁下亦可能被转介到劳工处的薪酬保障科,以申请破产欠薪保障基金的特惠款项。

如欲获取有关详情,请致电2717 1771 或电邮至 enquiry@labour.gov.hk 联络劳工处。