Employment: Contract and wages

Statutory Minimum Wage

The Minimum Wage Ordinance (Cap. 608) came into operation on 1 May 2011. Since then, the Statutory Minimum Wage (SMW) has become effective on the same day. With effect from 1 May 2019, the statutory minimum wage rate is revised to $37.5 per hour. In essence, wages payable to an employee in respect of any wage period, when averaged over the total number of hours worked in the wage period, should be no less than the SMW rate.

Since the calculation of minimum wage excludes the time that is not hours worked, payment made to the employee for any time that is not hours worked (e.g. rest day pay, holiday pay, annual leave pay, maternity leave pay, sickness allowance, etc.) must not be counted as part of the wages payable to the employee.

Failure to pay minimum wage amounts to a breach of the wage provisions. Under the Employment Ordinance, an employer who wilfully and without reasonable excuse fails to pay wages to an employee when it becomes due is liable to prosecution and, upon conviction, to a fine of $350,000 and to imprisonment for three years.

The Labour Department has set out some guidelines on SMW. You may click the following links to download the guidelines:
Statutory Minimum Wage: Reference Guidelines for Employers and Employees
Concise Guide to Statutory Minimum Wage

Statutory Minimum Wage (SMW) applies to all employees, whether they are monthly-rated, daily-rated, permanent, casual, full-time, part-time or other employees, and regardless of whether or not they are employed under a continuous contract* as defined in the Employment Ordinance, with the following exceptions:

  • persons to whom the Employment Ordinance does not apply (please click here for details)
  • live-in domestic workers
  • student interns as well as work experience students during a period of exempt student employment

Please note that SMW also applies to employees with disabilities and able-bodied employees alike. Special arrangement is provided under the Minimum Wage Ordinance so that persons with disabilities have the right to choose to undergo a productivity assessment to determine whether they should be remunerated at not lower than the SMW level or at a rate commensurate with their productivity. For details, please refer to the webpage Productivity Assessment for Persons with Disabilities under the Statutory Minimum Wage Regime published by the Labour Department..

*An employee engaged under a “continuous contract” is defined as one who has been employed under a contract of employment by the same employer for four weeks or more and has worked for 18 hours or more each week (i.e. the so-called “4-18” requirement)

雇佣关系:合约与工资

最低工资

香港法例第608章《最低工资条例》于2011年5月1日生效,法定最低工资亦于当日开始实施,由2019年5月1日起,法定最低工资水平将调整至每小时37.5元。雇员在任何工资期的工资,按他在该工资期内的总工作时数以平均计算,不得低于法定最低工资的水平。

由于非工作时数的时间,不会用于计算最低工资。因此,在计算最低工资时,就非工作时数而支付予雇员的款项(如:休息日薪酬、假日薪酬、年假薪酬、产假薪酬、疾病津贴等),同样不算作支付予雇员工资的一部分。

雇主如欠付最低工资,等同欠薪。根据《雇佣条例》,雇主如故意及无合理辩解而不依时支付工资给雇员,可被检控,一经定罪,最高可被罚款35万元及监禁3年。

劳工处制订了有关法定最低工资的参考指引,您可按以下连结下载:
《法定最低工资:雇主及雇员参考指引》
《法定最低工资简明指引》

法定最低工资适用于所有雇员,不论他们是月薪、日薪、长工、临时工、全职、兼职或其他雇员,也不论他们是否按《雇佣条例》下的“连续性合约”*受雇,但不适用于下列人士:

  • 《雇佣条例》所不适用的人士(详情请按这里
  • 留宿家庭佣工
  • 实习学员,以及正处于获豁免学生雇用期的工作经验学员

请注意:法定最低工资同样适用于残疾雇员。《最低工资条例》为残疾人士提供特别安排,让他们有权选择进行生产能力评估,从而厘定他们应获得不低于法定最低工资的薪酬,或收取按生产能力厘定的工资。详情可参阅劳工处的《法定最低工资制度下残疾人士的生产能力评估》的网页

*根据《雇佣条例》,按“连续性合约”受雇的定义是指雇员受雇于同一雇主4星期或以上,而每周工作18小时或以上(即符合所谓“4-18”的规定)。