Arresting procedure, my rights and obligations

Taking statements

Before taking a statement from the detained person, the police officer must caution you by saying, "You are not obliged to say anything unless you wish to do so but whatever you say will be put into writing and may be given in evidence." You may choose whether or not to answer any question asked by the police, as you have a right to silence.

You may also request to obtain legal advice before deciding whether or not to answer any questions. You may also have your lawyer present during the questioning and taking of any statement.

You may ask the police for a list of solicitors whom you can consult. The police have a duty to provide the list to you upon request, and allow you to telephone the solicitor unless this will seriously prejudice their investigation. However, free legal services are not available to you at this stage.

If you choose to answer any of the police officer's questions, all the questions and answers will be written down as a "Record of Interview" (often referred to as a "cautioned statement"). Upon conclusion of the interview the police have an obligation to provide you with a copy of this Record of Interview.

拘捕程序和我的权利及义务

录取供词

为被扣留人士录取供词之前,警方必须向他 / 她作出警诫:“唔系是必要你讲,除非你自己想讲,但系你所讲的事,可能用笔写低及用来做证供。”由于您有权保持缄默,因此您可以选择是否回答警方的提问。

您亦可以要求先谘询法律意见,再决定是否回答问题,以及要求在被盘问时及录取供词时,有律师在场。

您可以要求警方提供律师名单,以决定向谁作出谘询。除非会对警方调查造成严重损害,否则警方有责任在您的要求下,向您提供名单,或准许您致电律师。不过,在这个阶段,您并不会获提供免费法律服务。

如果您选择回答警方任何问题,所有问答会被写下来,成为“会面/问话纪录”(通常被称为“警诫供词”)。会面完毕后,警方有责任给您一份警诫供词副本。