Arresting procedure, my rights and obligations

Stopping and questioning by the police in a public place

Under Section 54(1) of the Police Force Ordinance (Chapter 232), it is lawful for a police officer to stop a person who is acting in a suspicious manner. The police officer may require that person to produce proof of identity (i.e. by showing a Hong Kong ID card or passport), and detain that person on the spot for a reasonable period to make enquiries into whether or not the person is suspected of having committed any offence at any time. What constitutes a "suspicious manner" is based only on the subjective assessment of the police officer. However, the police officer must, in fact, have a genuine suspicion.

Section 49 of the Public Order Ordinance (Chapter 245) permits a police officer to require any person to produce proof of his identity for inspection for the purpose of preventing, detecting or investigating any offence. A failure by that person to produce proof of identity under these circumstances constitutes an offence.

The police and immigration officers also have power under Section 17C(2) of the Immigration Ordinance (Chapter 115) to demand any resident in Hong Kong aged 15 or above to produce proof of his identity for inspection. A failure by that person to produce proof of identity as required without reasonable excuse constitutes an offence and is liable to a fine of $5,000.

拘捕程序和我的权利及义务

在公众地方被警察截停和查问

根据第232章《警队条例》第54(1)条,警务人员有权截停任何形迹可疑的人,亦可以要求对方出示身分证明文件(香港身分证或护照),并当场把该人扣留一段合理时间,以查问他有否涉嫌在任何时间干 犯任何罪行。至于怎样才是“形迹可疑”,则纯粹按照警务人员的主观判断而定。话虽如此,警务人员必须有真实怀疑,才会采取行动。

第245章《公安条例》第49条容许警务人员要求任何人出示身分证明文件作查阅,以防止、侦察或调查任何罪行。在这个情况下,任何人如未能出示身分证明文件,即属违法。

根据第115章《入境条例》第17C(2)条,警察及入境事务主任亦有权查阅任何15岁或以上之香港居民的身分证明文件。任何人未能出示身分证明文件而没有合理解释,即属违法,可被罚款5,000元。