Arresting procedure, my rights and obligations

Bail of arrested persons

A person who is detained in custody by the police shall be brought before a Magistrate as soon as practicable and generally within 48 hours from the time of the arrest. If the police want to detain a person for a longer period, they must first bring him/her before a Magistrate and make the relevant application. The detained person may object to such an application and ask for bail.

The police should grant bail to an accused person unless the alleged offence is serious or there is other good reason to detain the accused. Bail will usually be granted subject to a cash deposit or conditions of recognizance. The police will direct the accused to return to the police station or to appear in court on a specified date.

If bail is not granted by the police, then the police will have a duty to bring the accused to the Magistrates' Court as soon as practicable (normally in the following morning). The accused may apply to the Magistrate for bail at the first hearing. If bail is refused by the Magistrate, the accused may apply to a judge of the Court of First Instance of High Court for the grant of bail.

Bail should generally be granted by the court unless there is substantial ground for believing that the accused will fail to appear at the next scheduled hearing, or commit other offences whilst on bail, or interfere with witnesses or the investigation. For more details on this matter, please refer to Section 9D and Section 9G of the Criminal Procedure Ordinance (Chapter 221).

拘捕程序和我的权利及义务

被捕人士保释

任何人被警方拘留后, 警方应该在可行的情况下,尽快将被拘留人士带到裁判法院提案(通常在被捕后计起的48小时内)。如果警方想延长扣留时间,便必须将被拘留人士带到裁判法院,作出有关申请,被拘留的人亦有权提出反对,并申请保释。

除非被控的罪行严重,或者有其他充分理由要继续扣留疑犯,否则警方应该批准疑犯保释。被告通常是以现金保释,或承诺遵守担保条件。警方会指示疑犯在何时要返回警署,或要在指定日子,到法庭应讯。

如果警方不批准保释,便有责任在可行的情况下,尽快将疑犯带到裁判法院提讯(通常在翌日早上)。疑犯可以在裁判法院首次聆讯时申请保释。如裁判官仍拒绝其保释申请,被告可再向高等法院原讼庭法官申请保释。

除非法庭有实质理由相信被告可能在下次聆讯时缺席、在保释期间再犯案、骚扰证人或阻碍调查,否则通常都会批准保释。有关这方面的更多资料,可参阅第221章《刑事诉讼程序条例》第9D条9G条