Arresting procedure, my rights and obligations

Arresting a person

Under Section 50(1) of the Police Force Ordinance (Chapter 232), a police officer can "apprehend" (i.e. arrest) a person if he/she reasonably suspects the person being arrested is guilty of an offence. It is not necessary that the officer knows the exact statutory provision that the suspect has violated, so long as the officer reasonably suspects that the suspect has done something amounting to an offence.

Under Section 101A of the Criminal Procedure Ordinance (Chapter 221), any person effecting an arrest may use such force as is reasonable. A police officer may, for example, employ handcuffs or other means of restraint where it is necessary to prevent escape. Section 50(2) of the Police Force Ordinance (Chapter 232) also allows the police officer to use all means necessary to effect an arrest if the suspect forcibly resists or attempts to evade the arrest.

The police may arrest a person according to a warrant issued by a Magistrate under Sections 31, 72, 73 or 74 of the Magistrates Ordinance (Chapter 227). For example, an arrest warrant may be issued if an accused person does not appear in Court when he is due to answer a charge.

拘捕程序和我的权利及义务

拘捕

根据第232章《警队条例》第50(1)条,警方如合理地怀疑某人已经犯案,他们便可拘捕该人。警方毋须即场确定该人是触犯了哪一条法例,只需合理地怀疑该人作出了某些行为,等同犯法,就可以作出拘捕。

第221章《刑事诉讼程序条例》第101A条列明,作出拘捕的人可使用合理武力,例如警务人员为了防止被捕的人逃走,可以使用手铐或其他管束方式。第232章《警队条例》第50(2)条亦容许警务人员使用一切必须的办法,拘捕任何强行抗拒逮捕或企图逃避逮捕的人。

警方可根据裁判官发出的手令 / 拘捕令(参阅第227章《裁判官条例》第31727374条)去拘捕一个人。例如被告若缺席法庭聆讯,裁判官便可发出拘捕令。