Taking care of a mentally incapacitated person: Guardianship or Committee

Guardianship – When to appoint a Guardian?

  1. The power to appoint a guardian to take care of a mentally incapacitated person rests with the Guardianship Board, which is a quasi-judicial tribunal having the power to appoint guardians for adults over the age of 18 who are mentally incapable of making their own decisions about their personal affairs, financial matters, or medical or dental treatment. This includes older persons suffering from dementia or stroke who are incapable of taking care of themselves.

    In dealing with an application for guardianship, the first question that the Guardianship Board asks is, of course, whether the person concerned is suffering from mental incapacity. If the answer is yes, the Guardianship Board then considers the following factors:

    (Note: Prior to the making of a Guardianship Order, it is not yet confirmed that the subject person is mentally incapacitated.  The term “person concerned”, instead of “mentally incapacitated person”, would therefore be more appropriate in such circumstances.)

    1. whether the mentally incapacitated person has a mental disorder or mental handicap of a nature or degree which warrants guardianship;
    2. whether the mental disorder or handicap limits the individual in making reasonable decisions in respect of all or a substantial proportion of the matters which relate to his/her personal circumstances;
    3. whether the individual’s particular needs may only be met or attended to by guardianship and that no other less restrictive or intrusive means are available in the circumstances; and
    4. that it is in the interest of the individual’s welfare or for protection of others that a guardian be appointed.

      The Guardianship Board will not make a guardianship order unless all of the above criteria are met.

  2. An application for guardianship is fundamentally a legal proceeding (though it does not take place in a court room), which has the effect of appointing a guardian to look after  the daily needs of a mentally incapacitated person, including an older person suffering from dementia. Therefore, if the person concerned is already receiving adequate assistance from his/her family members, friends or other service providers, an application for guardianship would not be necessary.
    Common examples which justify the application for a Guardianship Order are:
  1. there are conflicts within the family of the person concerned, or between his/her family and service providers, particularly when the conflicts are about his/her care, medical treatment and accommodation;  
  2. the person concerned objects to his/her proposed care or treatment, e.g. placement in a residential facility;  
  3. a doctor refuses to give non-urgent medical treatment to the person concerned unless there is a guardian consenting to such treatment;  or
  4. the person concerned is suffering from, or at risk of, sexual, physical, emotional, or financial abuse, neglect, self-neglect or exploitation.

照顾精神上无行为能力的长者:监护人或受托监管人?

什么时候适宜委任监护人?

1. 监护委员会是一个类司法审裁机构,有权为年满18岁精神上无行为能力替自己的个人事务、财务、医疗及牙科治疗事宜作决定的人士作出监护令,即委任监护人以照顾该等精神上无行为能力者。此亦包括因痴呆(失智)症或中风而导致无法照顾自己的长者。

在处理申请监护时,监护委员会首先要处理的第一个问题当然是:当事人是否精神上无行为能力者?如果确认当事人属于精神上无行为能力,监护委员会便会进一步考虑以下因素:

(注:在监护委员会正式作出监护令前,还未能证实有关人士是否精神上无行为能力者,因此,在这种情况下,“当事人”一词当比“精神上无行为能力者”较为合适。)

  1. 该精神上无行为能力人士的精神紊乱或弱智的性质或程度,是否足以构成理由,将他/她收容监护;
  2. 有关的精神紊乱或弱智,是否限制该精神上无行为能力人士,就与其个人情况有关的所有或占相当比例的事宜,作出合理的决定;
  3. 该精神上无行为能力人士的特定需要,是否只有在其获收容监护的情况下,方可获得满足及照顾,且在有关的情况下没有其他较少限制或侵扰的方法可用;及
  4. 为该精神上无行为能力人士的福利或为保护他人着想,他/她应该获得收容监护。

除非监护委员会信纳上述准则,否则不会作出监护令。

2. 监护申请本质上是一个法律程序(尽管它的聆讯不会在法庭内进行),旨在委任一名监护人照顾精神上无行为能力人士的日常生活,即包括患有痴呆症的长者。因此,如果当事人已经从自己的家庭成员、朋友或服务提供者获得足够援助,当然毋须作出监护申请。

一般需要作出监护申请的例子包括:

  1. 当事人的家人之间,或家人与服务提供者之间,在有关他/她的照顾、医疗及住宿问题上存有争议;
  2. 当事人对于向他/她提供的照顾或治疗方案(例如替他/她安排的住宿服务)持有相反意见;
  3. 医生拒绝为未有监护人的当事人提供非紧急性的治疗;及
  4. 当事人受到性侵犯、身体或精神虐待、金钱被人滥用、疏于照顾、自我放弃照顾或被利用。