Medical insurance

Questions and answers

1. The insurance company appointed a doctor for my medical check-up before approving my insurance application. The doctor failed to discover a health problem that I did not disclose in my application form. Can the insurance company deny my claims based on the non-disclosure principle if subsequently I make such claims under the insurance policy?

Under the principle of “Utmost Good Faith”, the insured person or the policyholder has the duty to disclose all the information relating to the purchase of insurance to the insurance company.
Consequently, irrespective of there having been a medical examination conducted by a doctor appointed by the insurance company who failed to diagnose the health problem, the insurance company may still deny your claim. This is particularly so if your non-disclosure is material and affected the insurance company’s assessment of your risk profile.

2. Will medical reports issued by traditional Chinese medical practitioners be accepted by an insurance company when processing my claims?

There is usually a standard provision in an insurance policy that medical reports should be issued by a registered medical practitioner of Western medicine.
Thus, unless the policy specifically admits medical reports issued by registered Chinese medical practitioners, such reports may not be accepted for the purpose of claims.
You should check the provisions relating to claim procedures under the policy.

3. I took out an insurance policy in Hong Kong, but I was injured in a foreign country. Will this affect my claim?

That would depend on the territorial coverage of your insurance policy. If the coverage includes events that happen in a foreign country, then your claim may be admitted, subject to the terms and conditions of the policy.

4. I have taken out several insurance policies covering the same risk (e.g. hospital confinement or household damage). Can I claim the sum insured under ALL policies or just the actual expenses/losses only?

An insured person is not prevented by law from purchasing any number of insurance policies covering the same item/person for the same risk.
However, there is normally an "other insurance" clause in the insurance policy that requires disclosure by the insured person of all the other insurance taken out. The "other insurance" must cover the same risk, the insurance coverage is additional, and the relevant policies are valid and subsisting.
Typically, the clause may set out the liability of the insurance company in the situation where the insured person has also purchased "other insurance" that cover the same risks, which can be categorised as follows :

  • The "escape" provision, whereby the insurance company has no liability on the insured item/person if the insured person has purchased “other insurance” which covers the same risks;
  • The "excess" provision, whereby the insurance company is liable for the amount of the excess insurance over and above the "other insurance" only; and
  • The "pro-rata" provision, whereby the insurance company's liability is limited to a proportion of the loss.

These provisions apply to medical, personal injury and property insurance.

The provisions above are intended to prevent the insured person from unfair enrichment. In another words, the total amount of the claims payable under the "primary insurance", together with the "other insurance", should not exceed the fair value of the repair or replacement of the insured item (i.e. the total loss or all the expenses incurred).

Accordingly, you may make a claim under all of the policies. Depending on the terms of all your policies, your claims may be adjusted according to the express provisions under the "other insurance" clause, whereby the total payment will not exceed fair compensation for your loss. 

Example: You have taken out two medical insurance policies in which the sum insured for medical expenses is $10,000 for each policy (i.e. an aggregate insured sum of $20,000). If your medical bill is $15,000, you will receive $10,000 from one of the policies and $5,000 from the other.

医疗保险

问答

1. 保险公司在审核我的投保申请前,安排了一名医生为我进行身体检查。该名医生没有发现我的健康有毛病,而我亦没有在投保时披露该毛病。如我其后以该保单就没有披露的病患提出申索,保险公司是否可以基于“没有披露”的原则,拒绝向我赔偿?

在“最高诚信”原则下,受保人或保单持有人有责任向保险公司披露所有与投保有关的事实。

因此,无论保险公司有没有安排医生为您进行身体检查,亦无论医生有没有诊断出健康问题,只要您没有披露的是重要事实,并影响保险公司判断您是否有高风险的特征,保险公司仍然有权拒绝赔偿。

2. 保险公司核保时,是否接受传统中医签发的医疗报告?

保单一般会有标准条文,列明医疗报告应由注册西医签发。因此,除非保单特别列明接受注册中医签发的医疗报告,否则这些报告将不能在申索时获接纳。

您应细阅保单上有关申索程序的条文。

3. 我在香港购买了一份保单,但我在国外受伤,这会否影响我的申索?

这将视乎保单覆盖的地域范围;如果保单的保障范围包括在国外发生的事故,视乎该保单的条款及细则,您的申索有可能获接纳。

4. 我为同一保障项目(如住院或家居意外)购买了多份保险,我可否就所有保单提出索偿?抑或只可实报实销申索开支/损失?

法例没有限制投保人为同一保障项目/受保人购买保单的数目。

可是,保单一般会包含“其他保险”条款,要求投保人申报所有已购买的保险;这些保险必须保障相同项目及提供额外保障,而有关保单仍然持续有效。

一般来说,条款会列明在受保人已购买“其他保险”的情况下,保险公司须承担的责任。有关条款可分为以下几类:

  • “免除”条款:列明若投保人已为相同项目购买其他保险,保险公司毋须负上任何赔偿责任;
  • “余额”条款:列明保险公司只会赔偿超出“其他保险”赔偿额的部分;及
  • “按比例”条款:列明保险公司只会赔偿损失金额的某一百分比。

这些条款适用于医疗、个人意外伤亡及财物保险。

上述条款旨在防止投保人透过购买保险获取不正当的利益;换句话说,主保单和其他保单合计的赔偿额,不应超出修理或更换受保物品而产生的实际开支(即实际损失或所有支出的总数)。

因此,您可以就所有保单提出索偿,不过,不同保单条款各异,您所获的赔偿金额或会因应保单上有关“其他保险”的条款而有所调整,赔偿总额将不超过实际损失的金额。

例如:您买了两份医疗保险,每份保单赔偿医疗开支的保额是10,000 元(合共20,000元)。如医疗费是15,000 元,你便只可以从其中一份保单索偿10,000 元,并从另一份保单索偿 5,000 元。